2020 NADCO Virtual Spring Summit Schedule of Events


LIVE and ONLINE

June 22-24, 2020





Monday, June 22
6:00 – 7:00 ADT | 5:00 – 6:00 EDT | 4:00 – 5:00 CDT | 3:00 – 4:00 MDT | 2:00 – 3:00 PDT

Virtual Welcome Reception with the Exhibitors
(Open to Everyone)
Please check back for the link to join.


Top of Page




Tuesday, June 23
10:00 – 11:00 ADT | 9:00 – 10:00 EDT | 8:00 – 9:00 CDT | 7:00 – 8:00 MDT | 6:00 – 7:00 PDT

Test the Technology Session


NADCO has contracted with a technology-based organization that specializes in virtual conferences for our 2020 Virtual Spring Summit. We will have technology experts on hand to trouble shoot any issues you are experiencing during this testing period.

If you are worried about how your technology will work during this Virtual Spring Summit, please take a few minutes during this allotted time to log into the system using the credentials sent via email. This will provide you with the opportunity to test out your system's connection, video and audio in advance of the start of the Virtual Spring Summit.

You can also use these links to run diagnostic tests of your system in advance of the conference:


Tuesday, June 23 – General Session I
11:00 – 11:45 ADT | 10:00 – 10:45 EDT | 9:00 – 9:45 CDT | 8:00 – 8:45 MDT | 7:00 – 7:45 PDT

Welcome Remarks and State of the CDC Industry and the 504 Program

Brought to You By:
Rhonda Pointon, President & CEO
National Association of Development Companies
Catherine Riddle, Chief Financial and Technology Officer
CDC Small Business Finance Corporation
Invited Speakers:
Jovita Carranza, Administrator
U.S. Small Business Administration
William Manger, Associate Administrator, Office of Capital Access
U.S. Small Business Administration

Hear from NADCO's NEW President & CEO, Rhonda Pointon, the NEW SBA Administrator, The Honorable Jovita Carranza, and Capital Access's very own Bill Manger as they provide you with up-to-date information about the current state of the 504 industry. Learn what's next for the 504 as we move through the post COIVD-19 recovery process and experience the vision for the future of 504 lending.



Tuesday, June 23 – General Session II
12:00 – 1:30 ADT | 11:00 – 12:30 EDT | 10:00 – 11:30 CDT | 9:00 – 10:30 MDT | 8:00 – 9:30 PDT

504 Program Updates from OFA

Speakers:
Dianna Seaborn, Director, Office of Financial Assistance
U.S. Small Business Administration
Linda Reilly, Chief, 504 Program Branch, Office of Financial Assistance
U.S. Small Business Administration
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
Wayne Williams, EVP – Regulatory Affairs and Training
National Association of Development Companies

Catch up on the latest policy and procedural updates including a discussion of issues relevant to reopening the country – SBA form 1244, underwriting considerations in a post-COVID world, 504 debt refinancing, CARES Act Payment Subsidies, and PPP and loan forgiveness. Let tackle these challenges together with SBA’s 504 policy leadership team.



Tuesday, June 23 – Concurrent Sessions:
2:00 – 3:00 ADT | 1:00 – 2:00 EDT | 12:00 – 1:00 CDT | 11:00 – 12:00 MDT | 10:00 – 11:00 PDT

Breakout Session I – COVID-19 Impacts on the Loan Closing Process

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Todd Kobernick, Attorney
Law Offices of Todd Kobernick
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

Government-mandated shutdowns, reduced operating schedules, delayed re-openings, altered business operations. Our borrowers are facing incredible challenges but still need to close and fund their 504 loan. Let’s maneuver through this gauntlet with the experts and determine the viable paths forward as we all respond to the health emergency and the ongoing economic crisis, including a detailed review of the new COVID-19 agreement (rev May 2020).

Breakout Session II – What You Need to Know from the CSA: Catch-up Plans and More

Speakers:
Sheri McConville, Information Technology Specialist, Office of Performance Systems Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Oliver Dolan, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Pam Malla, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Mark McCall, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Mazen Shomali, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

As we recover from the health crisis and slowly re-open, we are experiencing an economic crisis unlike any most of us have ever experienced. Deferments and catch-up plans will be important tools in a CDC’s toolkit to better respond to borrower needs.

Breakout Session III – Debt Refi with and without Expansion

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

504 debt refi could be a lifeline to helping a small business access much needed, affordable capital to not only recover but also thrive in our “new normal”. We’ll discuss both 504 debt refi programs and all NADCO’s requested improvements to make sure that CDCs are armed with the best information possible to help small businesses not only recover from economic crisis but better position for future economic growth.



Tuesday, June 23 – General Session III
3:30 – 5:00 ADT | 2:30 – 4:00 EDT | 1:30 – 3:00 CDT | 12:30 – 2:00 MDT | 11:30 – 1:00 PDT


SLPC and the Keys to Successful Underwriting in a COVID-19 World & Beyond

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
Wayne Williams, EVP – Regulatory Affairs and Training
National Association of Development Companies

Industry concerns; drops in business activity from government-mandated shutdowns; my borrower has a cost overrun, but the business is temporarily closed or its current financials are severely impacted by shutdowns; how can I certify No Adverse Change when the business is closed; what should I include in my credit memo or 327 action to anticipate and address SLPC underwriting concerns. Hear directly from the SLPC staff on these and other pertinent topics.



Tuesday, June 23 – Concurrent Sessions:
5:30 – 6:30 ADT | 4:30 – 5:30 EDT | 3:30 – 4:30 CDT | 2:30 – 3:30 MDT | 1:30 – 2:30 PDT

Breakout Session IV – Community Advantage: Updates, Notices and More

Speakers:
Dianna Seaborn, Director, Office of Financial Assistance
U.S. Small Business Administration
Dan Upham, Acting Director, Office of Economic Opportunity
U.S. Small Business Administration
Paul Kirwin, Supervisory Financial Analyst, Office of Credit Risk Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Jean Tucker, Senior Financial Analyst, Office of Credit Risk Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Moderator:
Kim Buttemer, Chief Operating Officer
CDC Small Business Finance Corporation

What’s new with CA? When will SBA re-open the program to new participants? Will Congress make CA permanent? Join us for all the latest updates on Community Advantage.

Breakout Session V – Managing Deferments and Workouts in a Post Pandemic Environment

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

Managing troubled loans and workouts during a global health pandemic and economic crisis can be daunting for industry veterans as well as newcomers. Let’s review the process of assisting small businesses while protecting and preserving your CDC portfolio.

Breakout Session VI - 504 Modernization Roadmap: Looking Down the Road

Speakers:
Steve Kucharski, Director, Office of Performance Systems Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Sheri McConville, Information Technology Specialist, Office of Performance Systems Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Moderator:
Catherine Riddle, Chief Financial and Technology Officer
CDC Small Business Finance Corporation

PPP, CARES Act, deferments, refi…join us as we step back from the daily grind to envision the future of our CDC delivery system through improved technology.

Top of Page




Wednesday, June 24 – General Session IV
11:00 – 12:30 ADT | 10:00 – 11:30 EDT | 9:00 – 10:30 CDT | 8:00 – 9:30 MDT | 7:00 – 8:30 PDT

Beats from “The Hill”: Recent and Upcoming Legislation Impacting the 504

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Alison Feighan, Founding Partner
The Feighan Team
Moderator:
Patti Kibbe, President & CEO
Evergreen Business Capital

House bills…Senate bills…backroom negotiations…what’s a done deal and what’s still in the works? Join us as we hear directly from our colleagues on Capitol Hill (including our newest 4-corner, Maggie Moore) and address improving CDCs’ ability to provide much needed access to capital for our small business clients and help stimulate our national economic recovery.



Wednesday, June 24 – Concurrent Sessions
1:00 – 2:00 ADT | 12:00 – 1:00 EDT | 11:00 – 12:00 CDT | 10:00 – 11:00 MDT | 9:00 – 10:00 PDT

Breakout Session VII – PPP and PPPLF: What Now?

Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Gregg Mitchell, Chief Operating Officer
TMC Financing
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

Responding to a global pandemic and resulting economic crisis took ingenuity with the creation of a brand new loan program delivering massive relief funds in record time! Let’s review all the latest with PPP – remaining funds, carve outs for Community Financial Institutions including CDCs, how you can still get involved to help your small businesses and community while protecting your CDC’s balance sheet and not incurring undue risk.
*REPEAT* Breakout Session II – What You Need to Know from the CSA: Catch-up Plans and More
Speakers:
Sheri McConville, Information Technology Specialist, Office of Performance Systems Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Oliver Dolan, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Pam Malla, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Mark McCall, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Mazen Shomali, CSA Team
Central Servicing Agent
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

As we recover from the health crisis and slowly re-open, we are experiencing an economic crisis unlike any most of us have ever experienced. Deferments and catch-up plans will be important tools in a CDC’s toolkit to better respond to borrower needs.
*REPEAT* Breakout Session III – Debt Refi with and without Expansion
Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

504 debt refi could be a lifeline to helping a small business access much needed, affordable capital to not only recover but also thrive in our “new normal”. We’ll discuss both 504 debt refi programs and all NADCO’s requested improvements to make sure that CDCs are armed with the best information possible to help small businesses not only recover from economic crisis but better position for future economic growth.


Wednesday, June 24 – Concurrent Sessions
2:30 – 3:30 ADT | 1:30 – 2:30 EDT | 12:30 – 1:30 CDT | 11:30 – 12:30 MDT | 10:30 – 11:30 PDT

Breakout Session VIII – Market Updates: 504 Performance and What to Expect

Speakers:
Frank Keane, President
Eagle Compliance, LLC
Steve Van Order, Selling Agent
Eagle Compliance, LLC
Moderator:
Denise Ripley, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Training & Support
National Association of Development Companies

Record low 504 rates and large debenture pools! Is this market sustainable? Are we in store for a prolonged recession? Where are the US and global economies headed post-COVID and how will that impact rates? Let’s peer into the crystal ball with our friends from Eagle Compliance.
*REPEAT* General Session III – SLPC and the Keys to Successful Underwriting in a COVID-19 World & Beyond Please note that this session will run 1.5 hours instead of 1 hour so you may miss the break.
Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

Industry concerns; drops in business activity from government-mandated shutdowns; my borrower has a cost overrun, but the business is temporarily closed or its current financials are severely impacted by shutdowns; how can I certify No Adverse Change when the business is closed; what should I include in my credit memo or 327 action to anticipate and address SLPC underwriting concerns. Hear directly from the SLPC staff on these and other pertinent topics.
*REPEAT* Breakout Session V – Managing Deferments and Workouts in a Post Pandemic Environment
Speakers:
TBD
TBD
Moderator:
TBD
TBD

Managing troubled loans and workouts during a global health pandemic and economic crisis can be daunting for industry veterans as well as newcomers. Let’s review the process of assisting small businesses while protecting and preserving your CDC portfolio.


Wednesday, June 24 – General Session V
4:00 – 5:30 ADT | 3:00 – 4:30 EDT | 2:00 – 3:30 CDT | 1:00 – 2:30 MDT | 12:00 – 1:30 PDT

OCRM: What to Expect After the COVID-19 Crisis

Speakers:
Susan Streich, Director, Office of Credit Risk Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Paul Kirwin, Supervisory Financial Analyst, Office of Credit Risk Management
U.S. Small Business Administration
Moderator:
Matt Davis, President
Southland EDC

PPP and Payment Subsidies may have gotten all the attention up until now, but OCRM has been busy behind the scenes building a team and systems to provide necessary portfolio management and oversight in this rapidly changing economic environment. Let's check in to get all the latest information to better manage expectations and assure best outcomes as we move forward with economic recovery.


Top of Page